Connect with us


First batch of Indian players, including Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Suryakumar Yadav, depart for US ahead of T20 World Cup | Cricket News – Times of India



NEW DELHI: The Indian cricket team’s journey to the United States for the ICC T20 World Cup, commencing on June 1, has begun with the departure of the first group of players from Mumbai airport.
The contingent included captain Rohit Sharma, pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah, and the top-ranked T20I batsman Suryakumar Yadav.
Accompanying the players were head coach Rahul Dravid and batting coach Vikram Rathour.Young batting talent Shubman Gill, all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam Dube, along with pacers Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, and Khaleel Ahmed, were also spotted at the Mumbai airport.

The spin department was represented by Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel, who were part of the traveling squad.
Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, who on Friday ended their Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign with Rajasthan Royals after loss to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Kolkata Knight Riders’ batter Rinku Singh, who is playing the IPL final against SRH on Sunday at Chennai and star batter Virat Kohli, whose team Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) lost to RR in the eliminator on Friday, have not joined the team yet.

India’s T20 World Cup campaign begins on June 5 against Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. India versus Pakistan clash will take place on June 9. They will later play tournament co-hosts USA (June 12) and Canada (June 15) to wrap up their Group A matches.
In the tournament, India will be aiming to end their ICC trophy drought, having last won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. Since then, India has reached the 50-over World Cup final in 2023, semifinal in 2015 and 2019, the title clash of the ICC World Test Championship in 2021 and 2023, T20 WC final in 2014, semifinals in 2016 and 2022 but failed to secure a big ICC trophy.
India will be aiming to win their first T20 WC title ever since they won the inaugural edition of the tournament back in 2007 in South Africa. In the last edition held in Australia in 2022, India lost to England by 10 wickets in the semifinals.

Continue Reading